FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Dr. Hartmut Derendorf Is ASCPT's 2018 Mentor Award Recipient

Alexandria, Va. (November 27, 2017) — The American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT) has named Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D., as the recipient of its newest Mentor Award. Dr. Derendorf will receive the award at the 2018 ASCPT Annual Meeting, March 21–24, in Orlando, Florida, in recognition of his exemplary teaching and training.

Dr. Derendorf is the V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Distinguished Professor and Chairman at the University of Florida (UF) College of Pharmacy. He came to Florida from Münster, Germany, in 1981 as a postdoctoral fellow and began teaching clinical pharmacokinetics at UF two years later. During his tenure, he has overseen the training of more than 50 doctoral students and been named Educator of the Year numerous times.



Dr. Hartmut Derendorf

"This mentorship award is most meaningful and rewarding to me," said Dr. Derendorf. "During my career I have been blessed with outstanding students and postdocs, and seeing them grow and be successful is the greatest achievement one can hope for in academia. It is a privilege to work with these wonderful young scientists and help ensure that clinical pharmacology maintains a strong pipeline of well-educated and highly motivated researchers for academia, industry, and regulatory agencies."

Dr. Derendorf's research focuses on finding the right dose for drugs in development, particularly corticosteroids, analgesics, and antibiotics, as well as optimizing dosage and minimizing interactions for established medicines.

In 2010, Dr. Derendorf received the Distinguished Investigator Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP) and the Volwiler Research Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. He won the Research Achievement Award in Clinical Sciences from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) in 2003, the Leadership Award from the International Society of Pharmacometrics in 2013, and the Bristol–Myers Squibb Mentorship Award in Clinical Pharmacology in 2015. He is a Fellow of ACCP and AAPS.

Dr. Derendorf served as President, Secretary, and Chair of ACCP's annual meeting in 2003 and as President of the International Society of Anti-Infective Pharmacology from 2004 to 2006. From 2002 to 2006, he participated on the Food and Drug Administration's Advisory Committee for Pharmaceutical Science. He was a member of the Nutrition and Therapeutics Committee for NASA's Space Medicine Program from 2008 to 2011.

Page 2 ASCPT Mentor Award

Dr. Derendorf has published more than 10 textbooks in English and German and more than 450 peer-reviewed papers. He has served as an editorial board member for numerous journals, as Editor for the *International Journal of Antimicrobial Agents*, and as Associate Editor for the *Journal of Clinical Pharmacology* and *International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics*.

About ASCPT

ASCPT is the leading forum for the discussion, development, and integration of clinical pharmacology, translational medicine, and therapeutics. Headquartered in Alexandria, Va., ASCPT was established in 1900. Today, more than 2,300 ASCPT members are committed to advancing the science and practice of translational medicine.

Contact:

Sharon Swan, FASAE, CAE CEO, ASCPT 703-836-6981 Sharon@ascpt.org

###